Live Masterclass : How Positive Childhood Experiences Counteract Stress & Trauma

Bringing HOPE to parents, families and communities

Thursday May 20 at 8am PT / 11am ET / 4pm UK / 17h France


We know that Adverse Childhood Experiences (ACEs) and toxic stress can impact physical and emotional health and behaviors in adulthood.


In our first Masterclass Dr. Andrea explained how ACEs, chronic stress, abuse and neglect impact the developing brain, as well as the hormonal, cardiovascular and immune systems. (Get the replay here.)


In this new Masterclass, Dr. Andrea will bring to light the new data that examines the impact of positive childhood experiences (PCEs) on children and adults.


Researchers have found that there are supportive experiences that can buffer children from the effects of adversity and promote healthy development. This means that it’s really important to have positive childhood experiences, no matter how much adversity you have in your life. 


And if you have a lot of adversity and a lot of positive childhood experiences, you are less likely to suffer the consequences of ACEs. However if you have no positive childhood experiences and few ACEs, the consequences of the ACEs are more likely to appear. 


To find out which positive childhood experiences you have, answer the following questions. 

How much or how often during your childhood did you:

  1. feel able to talk to your family about feelings;
  2. feel your family stood by you during difficult times;
  3. enjoy participating in community traditions;
  4. feel a sense of belonging in high school;
  5. feel supported by friends;
  6. have at least two non-parent adults who took genuine interest in you; and
  7. feel safe and protected by an adult in your home.


The more of these positive experiences we have in childhood, the greater our resilience and our ability to tolerate or grow from adversity, and the lower our health risk as adults. 


Early childhood is a period that offers the greatest opportunity for preventing or mitigating harm and setting the course for healthy development. 


But we can still heal and build resilience!


In this live Masterclass Dr. Andrea will share what the research says we can do now to help the children in our lives and what we can do to ‘reparent’ ourselves if we had high ACEs without a compassionate, sensitive buffer in the form of a trusted adult relationship during our childhood.


Get your free ACE score with the short quiz here based on the original CDC-Kaiser Permanente study.


Register here for the links to join live + the replay. You can unsubscribe from this list at any time.